President McKay, CUPE, labour activists receive United Way Winnipeg Awards

On Tuesday, May 14, 2024 the United Way Winnipeg and Winnipeg District Labour Council presented their annual community labour awards to individual labour activists and presented certificates of recognition and excellence to unions for their fundraising efforts.

The event was held at Winnipeg’s Union Centre and honoured guests included Minister of Labour Malaya Marcelino, Minister of Advanced Education and Training Renée Cable, and several NDP MLAs as well as labour-friendly city councillors.

This year, CUPE Manitoba President Gina McKay (Local 2348) was the recipient of the 2024 Art Coulter Labour Comunity Service Award. This award is presented to a Winnipeg trade unionist who has made an outstanding contribution to the Winnipeg community, through volunteerism, education, activism and support for United Way Winnipeg.

The following awards were presented to individual labour activists at the event:

Bruce MacKay Labour Activist Award – James “Jim” Hare, UMFA
Bruce MacKay Community Activist – Brenda Hasiuk, MGEU
Labour Community Excellence – Darlene Jackson, President of MNU
Labour Volunteer Service – Joel Zillman with UNIFOR Local 830
Certificate of Recognition – Chris Noto with UFCW832
Art Coulter Award – Gina McKay, CUPE Manitoba President

Also presented with Certificates of Excellence were: CUPE Manitoba. CUPE 2153, CUPE 3473, and CUPE 998.

Certificates of appreciation were presented to CUPE 204, CUPE 2348, CUPE Regional, CUPE 1475, CUPE 1482, CUPE 3909, and CUPE 1063.

Awards were co-presented by the United Way Winnipeg’s Labour Director Madelaine Dwyer, a member of CUPE Local 2348.

Congrats to all on their well-deserved recognition.


We are Stronger Together, Labour & United Way!